IPL Purple Cap Winners List | Best Bowling in IPL 2022

Friends, welcome back!! We’ve prepared a list of IPL bowlers who have won the Purple Cap during the tournament’s history. We have compiled a purple cap list from 2008 to 2020, including 2021. However, you will be notified when any additional names are added.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Also, everyone who follows the IPL knows that the Purple Cap is an award that every bowler aspires to win. Every IPL bowler wishes to win the IPL Purple Cap. Because it is awarded every year to the finest bowlers in the world who compete in the IPL.

1) IPL 2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)

Sohail Tanvir

Sohail Tanvir’s IPL 2008 bowling performance is still regarded as one of the best in league history as he wore the first purple cap in ipl. 

He also took wickets at a 6.46 economy rate. Sohail Tanvir took 22 wickets for the team in 11 games. For 11 years, his bowling figures of 6/14 remained unbroken.

2) IPL 2009 – RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)

RP Singh

RP Singh was dominant throughout the season, taking the most wickets in the IPL 2009. He also played for the Deccan Chargers (DC) in the league’s second edition.

RP Singh, on the other hand, became the first Indian to do so. For the Deccan Charges, Singh took 23 wickets in 16 games. He was able to win the purple cap despite the intense rivalry.

3) IPL 2010 – Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers) 

Pragyan Ojha

Pragyan Ojha won the Purple Cap for being one of the most challenging spinners to read in IPL 2010. Throughout the season, Ojha remained a complete mystery to everyone. 

Furthermore, all of the hitters had no idea about his spin. He had 21 wickets in 16 games and was also very frugal with the ball, allowing only 7.29 runs per over.

4) IPL 2011 – Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)

Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga, the Srilankan Fast Bowler, is the greatest bowler in IPL history. He was at his best in the fourth edition of the league. He bowled brilliantly and was very accurate with his toe-crushing yorkers.

Whereas MI was the talk of the town the entire season because he picked up 28 wickets playing 16 matches. More interestingly, his economy was below six, which is really marvelous.

5) IPL 2012 – Morne Morkel (Delhi Capitals)

Morne Morkel

Morne Morkel, an all-rounder for England, got the Purple Cap. In the 2012 IPL season, the South African bowler took the most wickets. He averaged 18.12 wickets per game.

Morkel took 25 wickets for the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and helped his team finish first in their group. However, in the second qualifier against Kolkata Knight Riders, DC was eliminated.

6) IPL 2013 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo won the purple cap in the 2013 IPL for being one of CSK’s best performers. DJ Bravo has 32 wickets to his name, making him one of the top bowlers in IPL and Chennai Super Kings history. 

He was a key player in his team’s journey to the final that season. In addition, his season economy remains 7.95. Also, most of his wickets came in death overs.

7) IPL 2014 – Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)

Mohit Sharma

During the IPL 2014, CSK skipper MS Dhoni showed a lot of faith in Mohit Sharma and backed his performance. He took 23 wickets in 16 matches and drew the attention of the national selection. Owing to, he represents India thereafter.

The Indian pacer’s variations were superb, vital in CSK’s victory. He had a 19.65 average when he took his wickets. 

8) IPL 2015 – Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)

Dwayne Bravo

DJ Bravo is the first bowler to win the Purple Cap twice in IPL history. Despite taking 26 wickets, CSK was defeated by the Mumbai Indians in the tournament’s final.

His ability to bowl in any condition earned him a spot on the purple cap list in all ipl. His wickets came at an economy rate of 8.14.

9) IPL 2016 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar earned the purple cap for the first time in the IPL 2016 season. Kumar not only took 23 wickets in the competition, but he also helped his team win their maiden IPL title. 

Despite being one of the best Indian bowlers to ever play in the IPL, it took him 9 years to win the Purple Cap. Further, his slower balls had a significant impact on his economy, keeping it near seven.

10) IPL 2017 – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

For the first time in the history of the purple cap winners, Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the purple cap for two consecutive years. He claimed 26 wickets in just 14 matches at an average of 14.19.

However, his best bowling figures came against SRH that was 5/19. As a result, he is one of the leading medium-pace bowlers.

11) IPL 2018 – Andrew Tye (Punjab Kings)

Andrew Tye

Andrew Tye, a seasoned Australian bowler, was in great form in 2018, winning the Purple Cap. He was a consistent wicket-taker for his squad, finishing with 24 in just 14 games.

The team, however, was unable to perform effectively and finished seventh in the points table. He was fantastic for his team, and his variation with the ball in the final overs wowed everyone.

12) IPL 2019 – Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)

Imran Tahir

Imran Tahir is one of the all-time best T20 spinners. In 2019, he was a valuable player for Chennai Super Kings. Imran Tahir became the second spin bowler to win the Purple Cap after Pragyan Ojha.

During that season, he ended up taking 26 wickets in the middle overs for his team CSK. His economy rate was almost 6.69. However, they were defeated in the final by the Mumbai Indians.

13) IPL 2020 – Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)

Kagiso Rabada

For a long time, Kagiso Rabada has regularly been one of the top bowlers in the IPL. Due to his outstanding performance, winning the purple cap in IPL 2022 was obvious. Besides, his 30 wickets at an average of 18.26 let his team reach the finals for the first time in their history.

During the 2020 IPL season, which was staged in Dubai owing to the Covid-19, the player was great with the ball for his squad. He was able to frequently pick up wickets during the power play.  

14) IPL 2021- Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel has been named the IPL Purple Cap 2021 winner. He got 32 wickets in 15 matches during the competition. His overall average was about 14.34, with an economy rate of 8.14.

This right-arm pacer matched Dwayne Bravo’s 2013 record of most wickets (32) in an IPL season. Therefore, he shines with a bowl this ipl season. 

IPL Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2021

2008Sohail TanvirRR2211
2009R.P. SinghDC2316
2010Pragyan OjhaDC2116
2011Lasith MalingaMI2816
2012Morne MorkelDD2516
2013Dwayne BravoCSK3218
2014Mohit SharmaCSK2316
2015Dwayne BravoCSK2616
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH2317
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH2614
2018Andrew TyePBKS2414
2019Imran TahirCSK2617
2020Kagiso RabadaDC3017
2021Harshal PatelRCB3215


Here, we have tried to include relevant information of the purple cap list in ipl. In the Indian Premier League (IPL), the bowler with the most wickets in the season is awarded the Purple Cap. Each year, we see various talented bowlers compete for being the purple cap winner in ipl.  We have taken a look at the IPL purple cap winners, year by year, in this article: hope you enjoy reading it.

Leave a Comment