IPL 2023 Team Owner Name (ALL 10 IPL Team Owners)

The Indian Premier League is a professional Twenty20 cricket league based in India. Since its inauguration in 2008, the competition has been held every year. Besides that, cricket is the most popular sport in the country, contributing to the game’s commercial success.

IPL 2022 Team Owner Name

The Indian Premier League (IPL) gets credit for modernizing the sport in India. It is, without a doubt, the world’s largest cricket league. Further, the league is well-known in India and across the globe.

The IPL is more than simply a cricket tournament, it’s a carnival for cricket fans worldwide. This is the most widely watched cricket tournament. Besides, currently, there are 10 teams in the IPL. So follow this post for all ipl teams and owners. Further, we will also list ipl owners’ details.

The following is a complete list of IPL team owners 

IPL TeamOwners NameOwners BusinessBest IPL Season
Chennai Super KingsN SrinivasanChennai Super Kings Cricket LimitedChampions (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021)
Delhi CapitalsParth JindalGMR Group and JSW GroupFinalists (2020)
Punjab KingsPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan PaulBollywood Actress, Bombay Burmah Trading Company LimitedFinalists (2014)
Mumbai IndiansMukesh AmbaniReliance IndustriesChampions (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020)
Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh Khan and Juhi ChawlaRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta GroupChampions (2012 and 2014)
Sunrisers HyderabadKalanithi MaranSun TV NetworkChampions (2016)
Rajasthan RoyalsAmisha Hathiramani, Manoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch, Ryan Tkalcevic, Shane WarneBritish Asian TrustChampions (2008), Finalist (2022)
Royal Challengers BangaloreAnand KripaluUnited Spirits Ltd.Finalists (2016)
Gujarat TitansSteve Koltes, Donald Mackenzie, Rolly van RappardSiddharth Patel of CVC Capital PartnersChampions (2022)
Lucknow Super GiantsDr Sanjiv GoenkaRP Sanjiv Goenka Group

1) Chennai Super Kings

Since the IPL’s debut season in 2008, Chennai Super Kings was one of the original eight teams. Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited owns the team. Moreover, the Chennai Super Kings franchise was purchased by India Cements, an Indian cement production company formed in 1946.

In addition, N. Srinivasan, the former BCCI President and chairman of the ICC, is now the MD of India Cements. Many cricket fans are familiar with Srinivasan’s roles as Chairman of the International Cricket Council and President of the BCCI.

Last year, Chennai Super Kings became the first Indian Premier League franchise to achieve unicorn status, according to a new report. It has a market capitalization of INR 7,600 crore, and the gray market share price is between INR 200 and 225.

2) Mumbai Indians

The Reliance Group’s Nita Ambani and her son Akash Ambani own the most successful franchise in the Indian Premier League, the Mumbai Indians. Besides, The MI owners have always been actively involved in all aspects of the team, including the off-season.

Recently, Nita Ambani entered an elite list of influential women for managing the Mumbai Indians well, putting her at the top of the list of owners of IPL franchises.

3) Kolkata Knight Riders 

Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment), Jay Mehta, and Juhi Chawla (Mehta Group) own 55% and 45% stakes, respectively, in the Kolkata Knight Riders. 

In addition to Shahrukh Khan, a duo from the Mehta Group is responsible for managing auction operations.

4) Rajasthan Royals

A total of six individuals own shares in the Rajasthan Royals. These include Amisha Hathiramani from Tresco International Limited, Manoj Badale from Emerging Media (IPL) Limited, Lachlan Murdoch from Blue Water Estate Limited, Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty from Kuki Investments Limited as well as Shane Warne from Spinners Limited.

In addition, an ownership stake of 65% is held by the Manoj Badale-led Emerging Media IPL Ltd. Other significant minority shareholders include Lachlan Murdoch and RedBird Capital Partners.  

5) Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Royal Challengers Bangalore is owned by United Spirits Limited (USL), a subsidiary of the Diageo Group company. Prathmesh Mishra took over the role of RCB chairman from Anand Kripalu in July 2021. The incredibly followed IPL team has changed ownership following Kingfisher’s Vijay Mallya’s departure from the team. 

Moreover, the fans might be hoping to see a change in fortune for the team after the change in ownership.

6) Sunrisers Hyderabad 

Since the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise changed from Deccan Chargers to Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013, Kalanithi Maran owned the franchise. 

From the franchise won the first title as Deccan Chargers and the second title after the change to SRH, Kalanithi’s daughter Kaviya Maran appears to be overseeing the team’s operation.

7) Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings is owned by Dabur, Wadia Group, Preity Zinta, and Apeejay Group. Besides, the franchise was previously known as Kings XI Punjab. 

Currently, the team is managed by four separate entities and has a large fan base. Preity Zinta owns 27% of the team, while Dabur holds 46%, Wadia has 23%, and Apeeja holds 8%.

8) Delhi Capitals 

Previously known as the Delhi Daredevils, the Delhi Capitals. Before the name change, the team had been criticized by its fans for its poor performance in previous competitions. 

But they have performed well in their past two tournaments. They put on an outstanding performance and finished at the top of the point table. Half of the corporation is owned by GMR Group, while JSW Group owns the other half.

JSW Sports Director Parth Jindal runs the Delhi Capitals with veteran businessman Kiran Gandhi, the CEO, MD, and director of GMR Infrastructure. While both Gandhi and Jindal frequently attend IPL events representing the Delhi Capitals.

9) Lucknow SuperGiants

The BCCI introduced two all-new franchises ahead of the 2022 season, Lucknow SuperGiants,  owned by RPSG Ventures Limited as well as Sanjeev Goenka.

The RPSG Group previously owned the Rising Pune Supergiants team in the IPL during the 2016 and 2017 seasons. After five years of absence from the league, the RPSG Group is back with the Lucknow SuperGiants franchise. They acquired the franchise for a staggering INR 7,090 crore.

10) Gujarat Titans

CVC Capital Partners, a British private equity and investment advisory firm, acquired the Gujarat Titans franchise based in Ahmedabad.

Furthermore, CVC Capital Partners has never owned a franchise in the IPL before. Besides, the CVC Capital Partners team, Gujarat Titans, cost INR 5,625 crore.

IPL 2023 Teams Brand Value and CEOs

TeamBrand Value (in USD million)CEO/COO
Mumbai Indians83.00
Chennai Super Kings73.60Kasi Viswanathan
Royal Challengers Bangalore68.00Prathamesh Mishra
Delhi Capitals62.40Siddharth Bhasin
Kolkata Knight Riders76.80Venky Mysore
Rajasthan Royals61.30Jake Lush McCurm
Gujarat Titans47.40Arvinder Singh
Sunrisers Hyderabad48.80K. Shanmugam
Punjab Kings45.00Satish Menon
Lucknow Super Giants31.80Vinod Bisht


It has been a decade since the first game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was played. Today, the tournament is one of the most popular sporting events in India, with an audience of over 400 million people. The team owners have played their part in this success story by investing heavily to make IPL one of the most glamorous and lucrative sports tournaments. 

Thus, in this article we have shared ipl team owners share as well as ipl team owners 2022. Also, we discussed the complete ipl team owners list.

YouTube video

Leave a Comment