ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (All Season)

Friends!! In India, cricket is celebrated as a festival. Indian supporters may be found in every area of the country. And we are excited every time India wins an international tournament organized by ICC. In addition, everyone watched the World T20 World Cup, yet no one knows who won in which year. So, I’m sure you’re all eager to know who has won the T20 cricket match so far. As a result, I’ve put together a list of T20 cricket match winners.

In addition, we will also discuss the t20 world cup winners list year wise. It’s a collection of the preceding seven years. Moreover, when it comes to the winner of the T20 tournament in 2021, we have to state that Australia won the thrilling battle. It defeated New Zealand at the final which was a huge upset for its fans.

List of T20 World Cup Winners

Till now, seven T20 World Cups have been organized by ICC. So Let’s have our eyes on the t20 world cup winners list 2021 given below. Also, this will show the data and records of the T20 cricket world cup winners list all in the organized form. 

Year WinnerRunner UpVenue
2007IndiaPakistanSouth Africa
2009Pakistan SrilankaEngland 
2010England AustraliaWest Indies
2012West Indies SrilankaSrilanka
2016West IndiesEngland India
2021Australia New Zealand Oman & UAE

Now, have a look at these t20 world cup winners list 2007 to 2021 in detail.

India 2007 T20 world cup winner

India won the 1st T20 world cup under the captaincy of MS Dhoni by defeating the team Pakistan in 2007. India only lost one game in the tournament. It was against New Zealand. With it, India had a strong start to the tournament. Moreover, Shahin Afridi won the Man of the series award.

Pakistan 2009 T20 world cup winner

Pakistan won the T20 world cup in 2009 after playing as runner-ups. Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the super final. Pakistan, on the other hand, bounced back after losing the first encounter to England. Still, they managed to win this T20 match and showed his ability in two consecutive seasons. Umar Gul, a Pakistani batsman, was the season’s leading run scorer.

England 2010 T20 world cup winner

The T20 World Cup, which was held in 2010, was won by England. Following that, in 2010, England became the first team from outside Asia to win the trophy. Due to his excellent performance throughout the season, Kevin Pietersen was named Man of the Series. Meanwhile, in the finals, England beat Australia by 7 wickets to win the trophy.

West Indies 2012 T20 world cup winner

First and foremost, West Indies won their first match in 2012 by defeating the team Sri Lanka. More interestingly, West Indies lost their first game with the team Australia but they still managed to win the final match trophy. This match was really interesting. While the West Indies batsman smashed every bowler during the tournament.

Srilanka 2014 T20 world cup winner

Sri Lanka won the T20 World Cup for the first time in 2014, defeating India in the final. They only won by 6 wickets in the final tournament. It was India’s second appearance in the finals because of Virat Kohli. Meanwhile, Virat Kohli was also the leading run scorer and was selected man of the series.

West Indies 2016 T20 world cup winner

The West Indies were the first side to win the T20 World Cup twice. They won the trophy two years in a row, in 2012 and 2016. It was, however, a record, and no team has yet to break it. West Indies, on the other hand, have only lost one match, which was against Afghanistan. Afghanistan’s All-Rounder Mohammed Nabi took the most wickets in the competition. While Virat Kohli was named Match of the Series for the second time.

Australia 2021 T20 world cup winner

In the 2021 T20 world cup final, Australia and New Zealand face each other. It was held on 14th November 2021. And Australia won the finals by 8 wickets against New Zealand and became the World cup winner of T20 2021. It was the first time that Australia won. Mitchell Marsh won the match of the series award while Srilankan Veteran Player Wanindu Hasaranga was the highest wicket-taker.

Country Wise T20 world cup winner list

The given below is the detailed analysis of the T20 cricket tournament in which you will find the number of times a country won and in which year it won. It is given in a very organized tabular form to make it easy for you to understand.

Country nameWinning Year No. of times won
Pakistan 20091
West Indies2012 and 20162
England 20101
Sri Lanka20141
Australia 20211

Conclusion | ICC T20 World Cup 2022

To summarize, we have listed the T20 world cup winners from 2007 to 2021. When MS Dhoni headed the team as captain, India only won the competition once. But don’t be concerned!! In the forthcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022, India will have another chance to capture the title.

In addition, Australia will host the 2022 T20 World Cup. The dates have also been announced for it. As a result, the mega event will begin on October 22, 2022. Additionally, India has a chance to win this time if they perform well. India could end up with two ICC T20 trophies as a result of this.

Leave a Comment