1975 to 2023: Winners of the ICC Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is a four-year tournament that brings together the best cricket teams from around the world. 

We have witnessed thrilling games, thrilling finishes, and unforgettable moments since the World Cup began in 1975. 

In this blog post, we will look back at the history of the ICC Cricket World Cup winners in the One-Day International (ODI) format, highlighting their accomplishments, setbacks, and memorable experiences.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI Format)

YearHosting CountryWinnerRunner-up
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustralia
1979EnglandWest IndiesEngland
1983EnglandIndiaWest Indies
1987India and PakistanAustraliaEngland
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanEngland
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri LankaAustralia
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndia
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri Lanka
2011India and BangladeshIndiaSri Lanka
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaNew Zealand
2019England and WalesEnglandNew Zealand

West Indies (1975, 1979): The West Indies are the only team to have won the Cricket World Cup twice in a row, and they are the only team to have done so.

India (1983, 2011): India won the World Cup for the first time in 1983, and they added a second title in 2011, solidifying their position as a powerful cricketing nation. It is regarded as one of cricket’s greatest surprises that they won in 1983.

Australia (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015): With a record-tying five Cricket World Cup victories, Australia is the most successful team in the competition’s history. 

Pakistan (1992): Pakistan won the World Cup that year and has since become a renowned cricketing nation thanks to their unpredictable style and talent.

Sri Lanka (1996): Sri Lanka is the only team to have won the Cricket World Cup while also serving as a co-host.

England (2019): England is the most recent Cricket World Cup champion. Additionally, they are the first host nation since 1992 to have won the tournament.

Also Read:

How to get tickets for the Cricket World Cup 2023?

New Fantasy App 2023: Play Fantasy Cricket & Earn Real Cash

Country-wise ICC Cricket World Cup Winners:

TeamAppearances in FinalWinnersYears Won
Australia751987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies321975, 1979
India321983, 2011
Sri Lanka311996

Australia: With a record-breaking five World Cup victories, Australia is the most successful team in ICC Cricket World Cup history. They won the championship in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015, solidifying their position as a dominant force in cricket.

West Indies: The West Indies team, known for its flair and talent, has secured victory in the World Cup on two occasions. They captured the attention of cricket enthusiasts by winning championships in 1975 and 1979. 

India: India, a country that enjoys playing cricket, has proven its strength in the World Cup by winning the trophy twice. India’s stunning victory in 1983, under Kapil Dev’s direction, captured the attention of the cricketing world. The Indian team, captained by the charismatic Mahendra Singh Dhoni, continued their winning ways in 2011 by winning the championship once more.

Pakistan: In 1992, when they won the ICC Cricket World Cup, Pakistan’s cricketing abilities were highlighted. For Pakistan cricket and its devoted fans, their victory in 1992 is still a proud memory.

Sri Lanka: By winning their first World Cup championship in 1996, the Sri Lankan team created history. Sri Lanka displayed exceptional talent and skill in strategy under Aravinda de Silva’s direction to win the title. 

England: In 2019, the nation known as the “home of cricket” won its first World Cup championship. They demonstrated a remarkable display of cricketing talent, determination, and courage to defeat tough opponents while hosting the tournament. 


As we eagerly anticipate the upcoming 2023 edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup, which will be hosted by India, we look back on the tournament’s rich history. 

Over time, we have witnessed outstanding performances, memorable contests, and the naming of deserving champions. The World Cup continues to be a celebration of cricket that unites nations and enthralls fans everywhere.

Leave a Comment