Most Successful Teams in Indian Premier League History: Top 5 teams in IPL

Top 5 teams in IPL

Here you all discover the Most Successful Teams in Indian Premier League History including Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Titans, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

In this blog, you Learn about their strengths, weaknesses, and what makes them stand out in the world’s most popular T20 league.

Top 5 Teams in IPL

IPL (Indian Premier League) is one of the most famous, wealthiest, and richest T20 Leagues in cricket history. It has been recognized as the most popular league ever since it was founded in 2008. The Indian Premier League is a men’s Twenty20 cricket league that is annually held in India and contested by ten city-based franchise teams.

In the IPL league, 10 different teams may take part and show interesting fights against their opponents to win matches. Completing 15 seasons in the Indian Premier League, different teams lift titles but some may have not.

Now let’s see about the Most Successful Teams in Indian Premier League History: Top 5 teams in IPL

1. Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians

The most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League without any doubt is Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians won 5 Indian Premier League Titles under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. They won 5 IPL titles in the elective seasons, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. Also, MI has won 2 Champions League titles in 2011 & 2013.  Mumbai Indians have reached the playoffs in 9 out of 15 seasons and they have the championship in 5 of those reasons.

Hence, MI has also become the Best Indian Premier League team & World’s Best Cricket Team two times. Mumbai Indians played a total of 231 matches where they won 129 matches. The winning rate of MI is 55.8% till now. 

Also check: List of Top 10 Orange Cap Winner Batsmen in Indian Premier League

2. Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings is the 2nd best team in the IPL history. This team is led by MS Dhoni, one of the greatest captains in International cricket. CSK is one of the best teams in the IPL has won the event a total of three times and have made it to the playoffs 10 times in the past 12 seasons. They also won the Champions League Title 2 times in 2010 & 2014.

CSK is considered the IPL’s best team with their excellent performance in the Champions League, also they have a record of qualifying the highest number of times for the IPL playoffs. Out of 15 seasons, in 8 seasons, CSK has qualified for the finals. CSK has played 196 matches & won 117 of them. The team has a winning rate of 59.7%.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders is the 3rd best team in the IPL history. KKR has reached the playoffs 7 times in 15 seasons in Indian Premier League. KKR has won the IPL title 2 times under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan. Also, this team has the record for most consecutive  IPL Wins by winning 14 matches in succession.

KKR has become the runner-up of the Vivo IPL 2021 (season 14). Kolkata has played 213 matches and won 108 of them. KKR has a winning percentage of 51.6%.

See more: TOP 10 IPL Team’s Owners: Indian Premier League Teams Owners Name

4. Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals is the 4th best team in IPL history. They won their first-ever IPL season Title in 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne. This team has changed many captains in many seasons. The team even qualified for the playoffs in 2015 and 2018. With excellent performance, the team became runners-up in 2022. This team is well-known for its aggressive way of playing cricket in IPL matches.

RR has always been a creative and forward-thinking squad, and they take a kind approach to the way they play their games. Also, this team has given opportunities to young talented players. Rajasthan Royals has appeared in 178 IPL matches and won 86 of them with a winning percentage of 48.31%.

5. Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad is the 5th best team in the IPL history. This team was later introduced in the placement of Deccan Chargers. This team has shown excellent performance throughout the IPL seasons. SRH won their first IPL Title in 2016 under the captaincy of Kane Williamson and in 2009 Deccan Chargers won the title under the captaincy of David Warner.

SRH became the runner-up in 2018, and they have qualified for the playoffs for 4 times in 2013, 2017, 2019 & 2020. SRH has played in 125 IPL matches and won 66 of them with a winning percentage of 53%.


These are the Top 5 Teams in IPL throughout the history of IPL. These teams showed their best performances and excellence in playing cricket from time to time and entertained all of the cricket fans. As a result of the Indian Premier League many young talented hunts have come with excellent skills in the IPL tournaments. The best performers of the IPL were further selected for one of the World’s Best Teams. Top IPL teams have gifted the nation with young talents from time to time in each season and helped to grow the Indian Cricket Ecosystem.

You May Also Like:

IPL 2024 Schedule, BCCI Announced 15 Days Schedule Matches, Fixtures, Venues, Team Lists, Team Squad

Top 10 Best IPL Batsmen of All Time: Know 10 Most Successful Batsmen in the IPL History

Top teams with most sixes in IPL: Most Sixes in IPL by a Team (2008-2023)

IPL Purple Cap Winners List | Best Bowling in IPL 2022

List of Top 10 Orange Cap Winner Batsmen in Indian Premier League(2008-23)

Leave a Comment