Top teams with most sixes in IPL: Most Sixes in IPL by a Team (2008-2023)

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most famous and richest cricket leagues I have ever seen in the world of cricket. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is like a playground where players show off their powerful batting skills by hitting many exciting sixes. In the IPL there is a cool stats or facts known as “Most Sixes in IPL by a Team”

It was started in 2008, and from 2008 to 2022, it has become more interesting and entertaining. It is one of the biggest festivals of cricket.

Below is the list of all the IPL teams who have been ranked according to the number of sixes they have hit in the Indian Premier League.

Most Sixes in IPL by a Team

1. Mumbai Indians1442 sixes

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the IPL. They won the IPL title 5 times in the years 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. They have the most brilliant and skillful players on their team, that’s why they are the most successful team in the IPL to win 5 IPL titles.

Mumbai Indians stand at the leading position with 1408 sixes in this list of Most Sixes in IPL by a Team. They hit 1442 sixes in 235 matches with 6.07 per match.

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 1433 Sixes

Royal Challengers Banglore

Royal Challengers Bangalore is the most dangerous & destructive team in the IPL history. It is hard to say that they are hardly able to win any IPL title. Royal Challengers Banglore hit 1433 sixes in 232 matches and they hit 6.09 sixes per match. They stand at the second position in this list.

Also check: List of Top 10 Batsmen in Indian Premier League Orange Cap Winners

3. Chennai Super Kings – 1322 Sixes

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings is the second most successful team in the history of IPL. They won 5 IPL titles and equal with the Mumbai Indians in this year of 2023. These teams have the most brilliant and young star players who give their full in their winnings. Chennai Super Kings hit 1322 sixes in 214 matches and stands at third position in this list.

4. Punjab Kings – 1309 Sixes

Punjab Super Kings

Punjab Kings was a good team in the IPL in the previous times because they had the most brilliant players such as Virender Sehwag, David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, etc. They are yet to win the IPL title. The Punjab Kings hit 1309 sixes in 223 matches. They hit 5.80 sixes per match.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders – 1278 Sixes

Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the strongest teams in the history of IPL. They won 2 IPL titles in the year 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. They stood in the 5th position by hitting 1278 sixes in 228 matches with 5.44 sixes per match.

See more: Top 10 Bowlers in IPL Purple Cap Holders: Greatest Bowlers of All time in IPL

6. Delhi Capitals – 1161 Sixes

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals is the team whose old name was Delhi Daredevils which ranked at the 6th position in this list. They played from the IPL 2008 till now. They hit 1161 sixes in 229 matches. Their batting lineup is excellent in all the IPL seasons but they are weak & less effective with their bowling department.

7. Rajasthan Royals – 1058 Sixes

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals is the champions of Ist IPL season title winner under the captaincy of legend cricketer Shane Warne. Rajasthan Royals stands in the 7th position in the list as they hit 1058 sixes in 197 matches. They are banned for two seasons because of match-fixing.

8. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 798 Sixes

Sunrisers Hyderabad is the only single Title winner in the Indian Premier League. Many big players played in this franchise. Some of the players are David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, and many more. But the impact of David Warner’s batting was very crucial in this team because he won 3 Orange Cup titles. Sunrisers Hyderabad hit 798 sixes in 156 matches.

visit: Top 10 Best IPL Batsmen of All Time: Know 10 Most Successful Batsmen in the IPL History


1Mumbai Indians14422356.07
2Royal Challengers Bangalore14332326.09
3Punjab Kings13092235.80
4Chennai Super Kings13222146.13
5Kolkata Knight Riders12782285.44
6Delhi Capitals11612295.08
7Rajasthan Royals10581975.28
8Sunrisers Hyderabad7981565.09
9Deccan Chargers400755.33
10Pune Warriors India196464.26
11Rising Pune Super Giants157305.23
12Gujarat Lions155305.17
13Lucknow Super Giants115157.09
14Gujarat Titans79165.18
15Kochi Tuskers Kerala53143.79


Throughout the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 2008 to 2023, the pursuit of power-hitting has become a defining aspect of the tournament. Teams showcasing a penchant for sixes have not only entertained fans but also left an indelible mark on the league’s history. As the statistics reveal, the top teams with the most sixes have contributed significantly to the IPL’s thrilling narrative, showcasing the evolution of T20 cricket.


Which team hits the most sixes in the history of IPL?

Mumbai Indians have hit 1442 sixes in 231 matches since IPL 2008.

How many sixes did CSK hit in IPL history?

CSK occupy at no. 3 on this list by hitting 1322 sixes since IPL 2008.

Who hits the most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle hits 357 sixes in 142 matches.

Leave a Comment